LAPHO – Politique sur les normes d’accessibilité intégrées

Remarque :

  • En vertu de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario, toutes les organisations des secteurs public et privé doivent satisfaire aux exigences des normes d’accessibilité établies par le règlement.
  • Lorsque la présente politique diffère des normes d’accessibilité intégrées prévues par la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO), la norme de la LAPHO s’applique.
  • La présente politique peut nécessiter des révisions à mesure que d’autres normes sont adoptées en vertu de la LAPHO.
  • La présente politique établit les normes d’accessibilité intégrées dans les domaines de l’emploi, de l’information et des communications, et du transport, conformément au Règlement de l’Ontario 191/11.

Énoncé de la politique

Storesupport s’engage à fournir aux personnes handicapées le même accès à ses ressources et services dans le respect des principes de dignité, d’autonomie, d’intégration et d’égalité des chances.

En outre, Storesupport n’épargnera aucun effort pour répondre en temps opportun aux besoins des personnes handicapées par la mise en œuvre de la présente politique conformément à l’esprit et à la lettre de toutes les lois applicables, y compris de la LAPHO, du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario et de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Définitions

Aux fins de la présente politique, les termes suivants sont définis ainsi :

Formats accessibles :

S’entend notamment d’un format en gros caractères, d’un format audio ou électronique enregistré, du braille et d’autres formats que peuvent utiliser les personnes handicapées.

Mesure d’adaptation :

Disposition spéciale prise ou assistance fournie pour que les personnes handicapées puissent participer aux expériences offertes aux personnes non handicapées. Les mesures d’adaptation varient en fonction des besoins de chaque personne en matière d’accessibilité. Normes d’accessibilité intégrées – LAPHO

Communications :

Interactions entre deux ou plusieurs personnes ou entités, ou toute combinaison de celles-ci, lorsque des renseignements sont fournis, envoyés ou reçus.

Aides à la communication :

Les méthodes et les aides, notamment le sous-titrage, la communication suppléante et alternative, le langage clair, le langage gestuel et d’autres aides qui facilitent une communication efficace avec les personnes handicapées.

 

Handicap :

Selon la définition de la LAPHO et du Code des droits de la personne :

  1. Tout degré d’incapacité physique, d’infirmité, de malformation ou de défigurement dû à une lésion corporelle, une anomalie congénitale ou une maladie, et, notamment, le diabète sucré, l’épilepsie, un traumatisme crânien, tout degré de paralysie, une amputation, l’incoordination motrice, la cécité ou une déficience visuelle, la surdité ou une déficience auditive, la mutité ou un trouble de la parole, ou la nécessité de recourir à un chien-guide ou à un autre animal, à un fauteuil roulant ou à un autre appareil ou dispositif correctif;
  2. une déficience intellectuelle ou un trouble du développement;
  3. une difficulté d’apprentissage ou un dysfonctionnement d’un ou de plusieurs des processus de la compréhension ou de l’utilisation de symboles ou de la langue parlée;
  4. un trouble mental; ou
  5. une lésion ou une invalidité pour laquelle des prestations ont été demandées ou reçues dans le cadre du régime d’assurance créé aux termes de la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l’assurance contre les accidents du travail.

Information :

Données, faits et connaissances qui existent dans un quelconque format, notamment le texte, l’audio, le numérique ou les images, et qui véhiculent un sens.

Réaffectation :

S’entend du fait d’affecter un employé ou travailleur à un autre service ou un autre poste au sein de la même organisation au lieu de le mettre à pied, lorsque l’organisation a éliminé un poste ou un service donné.

Superviseur :

Une personne nommée par l’employeur qui a la responsabilité d’un lieu de travail ou qui a autorité sur un travailleur. En général, il s’agit des personnes qui occupent des postes de directeur, de gestionnaire ou de superviseur, ainsi que tout autre poste de gestion, ou celles qui occupent un poste de supervision temporaire.

Information inconvertible :

  1. Se dit des renseignements et des communications qu’il n’est pas techniquement possible de convertir;
  2. La technologie qui permet de convertir les renseignements et les communications qui ne sont pas facilement accessibles.

 

Travailleur :

Désigne toute personne à laquelle Storesupport verse un salaire ou un traitement, exerce un contrôle sur le travail qui lui est confié et supervise les moindres détails de son travail. S’applique aussi aux cadres supérieurs.

Cela comprend, sans s’y limiter :

  1. les travailleurs à temps plein
  2. les travailleurs à temps partiel
  3. les travailleurs saisonniers
  4. les travailleurs contractuels

Principes d’exploitation

Plan d’accessibilité pluriannuel

Storesupport doit créer un plan d’accessibilité pluriannuel qui établit une approche progressive pour prévenir et supprimer les obstacles et répondre aux exigences actuelles et futures de la LAPHO. Le plan doit être revu et mis à jour au moins une fois tous les cinq ans, ou selon les besoins

Formation

Storesupport doit veiller à ce que tous les employés reçoivent une formation sur les exigences des normes d’accessibilité énoncées dans le Règlement et sur les dispositions du Code des droits de la personne qui s’appliquent aux personnes handicapées. La formation doit être donnée et mise en place en date du 1er janvier 2014.  

Cette formation sera dispensée au cours des deux semaines suivant le début de l’exercice des fonctions en magasin pour le compte de Storesupport. Une formation supplémentaire sera dispensée au cours des deux semaines suivant toute modification apportée à la présente politique ou aux procédures et pratiques connexes.

NORMES D’INFORMATION ET DE COMMUNICATION

Storesupport doit créer, fournir et recevoir les renseignements et les communications en employant des méthodes accessibles aux personnes handicapées.

S’il est déterminé qu’il est techniquement impossible de convertir les renseignements ou la communication, ou que la technologie de conversion de l’information ou de la communication n’est pas facilement disponible, la personne qui demande l’information doit recevoir ce qui suit :

  • une explication des raisons pour lesquelles elles ne peuvent pas être converties; et
  • un résumé de l’information ou des communications qui ne peuvent pas être converties.

 

Information pour les cas d’urgence

Storesupport doit préparer des plans et des procédures d’urgence ainsi que des renseignements sur les mesures de sécurité publique et les fournir sur demande dans un format accessible ou avec les aides à la communication appropriées, dès que cela est matériellement possible.

Comment fournir des commentaires

Storesupport verra à établir un processus pour recevoir des observations et y répondre sur la façon dont elle mène ses activités auprès des personnes handicapées. L’information liée à ce processus doit être facile à obtenir dans un format accessible ou avec des aides à la communication appropriées. Le processus permettra de transmettre des commentaires en personne, par téléphone, par écrit ou en envoyant un message par courriel, sur disquette ou autre format.

Le processus indiquera les mesures que Storesupport devra prendre lorsqu’elle reçoit une plainte. Une réponse sera acheminée à la personne qui a déposé la plainte dans un délai de cinq jours ouvrables.

Formats accessibles et aides à la communication :

Storesupport doit fournir ou prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour fournir à la personne handicapée qui le demande des formats accessibles et des aides à la communication :

  • en temps opportun et d’une manière qui tient compte des besoins en matière d’accessibilité de la personne en raison de son handicap;
  • à un coût qui n’est pas supérieur au coût habituel demandé aux autres personnes;
  • après avoir consulté l’auteur de la demande pour déterminer la pertinence d’un format accessible ou d’une aide à la communication.

Matériel didactique et de formation :

Storesupport doit fournir l’accès ou prendre des dispositions pour fournir l’accès à du matériel accessible si celui-ci existe, rendre publics les renseignements sur la disponibilité du matériel accessible et, sur demande, fournir l’information dans un format accessible ou avec des aides à la communication appropriées.

 

Accessibilité au site Web :

Storesupport doit rendre l’Internet de l’entreprise et le contenu de son site Web conformes aux Règles pour l’accessibilité des contenus Web (WCAG) 2.0 du Consortium World Wide Web, initialement au niveau A, puis jusqu’au niveau AA. En date du 1er janvier 2014, tout nouveau contenu Web doit respecter les règles WCAG 2.0 de niveau A. À compter du 1er janvier 2021, le contenu des sites Web et autres contenus Internet devront être conformes aux règles WCAG 2.0 de niveau AA.

NORMES D’EMPLOI :

Les normes d’emploi s’appuient sur les exigences actuelles du Code des droits de la personne à propos des mesures d’adaptation aux besoins des personnes handicapées dans le cadre du processus de recrutement et de la relation de travail. Elles s’appliquent uniquement aux employés, à l’exclusion des bénévoles et des autres personnes non rémunérées.

Recrutement et sélection :

Storesupport doit aviser ses employés et le public de la disponibilité de mesures d’adaptation pour les candidats handicapés qui en font la demande. Elle peut le faire notamment au moyen d’un avis publié sur le site Web de l’entreprise ou d’une déclaration dans l’offre d’emploi selon laquelle « des mesures d’adaptation pour les candidats handicapés sont disponibles sur demande ». Elle doit en outre aviser chaque candidat à un emploi qui est sélectionné pour participer au processus d’évaluation ou de sélection que des mesures d’adaptation sont disponibles. Le matériel ou les procédés fournis, compte tenu des exigences de l’emploi et des besoins du candidat, doivent être déterminés en collaboration avec le candidat.

Avis aux employés

Storesupport doit informer les employés des politiques et des procédures, y compris celles relatives aux mesures d’adaptation, qui tiennent compte des besoins d’accessibilité des employés. Ces renseignements doivent être donnés aux nouveaux employés dès que possible suivant leur entrée en fonction dans l’organisation de Storesupport. Après avoir répertorié les mesures pertinentes possibles, Storesupport doit déterminer la meilleure façon d’adapter le travail à l’employé, en collaboration avec son superviseur, un spécialiste des ressources humaines et l’employé.

Formats accessibles et aides à la communication pour les employés

En plus de s’acquitter de ces obligations, et si un employé handicapé le demande, Storesupport doit consulter l’employé pour lui fournir ou prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour lui fournir des formats accessibles et des aides à la communication à l’égard de ce qui suit :

  • les renseignements nécessaires pour faire son travail;
  • l’information généralement mise à la disposition des employés au lieu de travail.
  • Storesupport doit consulter l’employé qui fait la demande lors de la détermination de la pertinence d’un format accessible ou d’une aide à la communication.

Plan d’adaptation individualisé

Storesupport doit préparer, tenir à jour et documenter un plan d’adaptation individualisé, conformément aux exigences des normes d’emploi, pour les employés handicapés. Le plan doit décrire les formats accessibles et les aides à la communication fournis.

Processus de retour au travail

Storesupport doit instaurer un processus de retour au travail pour les employés qui s’absentent en raison d’un handicap et qui ont besoin de mesures d’adaptation liées à leur handicap afin de reprendre leur travail. Le processus de retour au travail doit intégrer des plans d’adaptation individualisés qui conviennent à l’employé. Ce processus de retour au travail ne doit pas annuler ou remplacer tout processus de retour au travail déjà supervisé par [insérer le titre du poste ou le service].

Gestion du rendement, perfectionnement et avancement professionnels, et réaffectation

Storesupport doit tenir compte des besoins en matière d’accessibilité de ses employés handicapés lorsqu’elle utilise des techniques de gestion du rendement, fournit des possibilités de perfectionnement et d’avancement professionnels ou réaffecte des employés vers d’autres lieux ou groupes de travail.

Interventions d’urgence sur le lieu de travail :

Si un employé handicapé le requiert et y consent, Storesupport doit mettre à sa disposition une ou plusieurs personnes de soutien pour l’aider dans les situations d’urgence qui nécessitent l’évacuation des lieux. Le plan ou le processus d’urgence individualisé doit être communiqué à la ou aux personnes de soutien, uniquement dans la mesure où l’employé y consent, afin de respecter sa vie privée. Storesupport doit examiner les renseignements individualisés relatifs aux interventions d’urgence sur le lieu de travail lorsque l’employé change de lieu de travail ou de groupe de travail, ou en cas de modification de son handicap, de concert avec son superviseur, un spécialiste des ressources humaines et l’employé.

En outre, une procédure générale d’évacuation d’urgence doit être mise en place pour toute installation susceptible d’accueillir des visiteurs handicapés ayant besoin d’aide supplémentaire. Ce processus doit être communiqué à tous les employés.

NORMES POUR LE TRANSPORT

Les normes pour le transport facilitent les déplacements dans les services de transport adapté et de transport en commun et dans les taxis en Ontario, notamment pour les personnes handicapées, les Canadiens âgés et les familles avec des enfants en poussette.

Storesupport n’est pas un fournisseur de transport adapté ou de transport en commun, et ne délivre pas de permis de taxi; l’entreprise n’est donc pas visée par les normes pour le transport.

NORMES POUR LA CONCEPTION DES ESPACES PUBLICS

Norme destinée à supprimer les obstacles dans les sections des bâtiments et des espaces publics. Les exigences s’appliquent pour la construction de nouveaux bâtiments ou le réaménagement important et prévu des espaces publics existants. Storesupport veillera à inclure les exigences en matière d’accessibilité au tout début, dès les premiers stades de la planification et de la conception, le cas échéant.

Contrôles administratifs de la politique

Responsabilités

Storesupport doit procéder à la révision de cette politique tous les trois (3) ans ou apporter les modifications recommandées afin d’en garantir la conformité aux normes d’accessibilité et obligations prévues dans la réglementation.

Le personnel de gestion et les employés sous leur supervision sont avisés de consulter la présente politique.

Surveillance et contraventions

Le personnel de gestion surveillera les pratiques courantes pour s’assurer que la politique est respectée. Tout manquement à l’égard de la politique pourra engendrer de mesures disciplinaires pouvant aller jusqu’au licenciement.

AODA – Integrated Accessibility Standards Policy

Please note:

Under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 all public and private sector organizations must meet the requirements of accessibility standards established by the regulation.

Where this policy varies from the Integrated Accessibility Standards under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA), the AODA Standard shall apply.

This policy may require revision as other standards are introduced under the AODA.

This policy establishes the Integrated Accessibility Standards in the areas of Employment, Information and Communication, Transportation, and Design of Public Spaces in accordance with Ontario Regulation 191/11.

Policy Statement

Storesupport is committed to providing persons with disabilities the same opportunity to access our resources and services, in a manner consistent with the principles of dignity, independence, integration, and equal opportunity.

Furthermore, Storesupport shall use every effort to ensure that we meet the needs of persons with disabilities, in a timely manner, through the implementation of this policy in accordance with the spirit and intent of all applicable legislation including the AODA, the Ontario Human Rights Code, and the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

Definitions

For the purpose of this policy, the following terms are defined as:

Accessible Formats:

Refers to materials that have been converted to accessible formats which include, but are not limited to, large print, recorded audio and electronic formats, Braille and other formats usable by persons with disabilities.

Accommodation:

The special arrangement made or assistance provided so that persons with disabilities can participate in the experiences available to persons with disabilities. Accommodation shall vary depending on the person’s specific accessibility needs. AODA – Integrated Accessibilty Standards

Communications:

The interaction between two or more persons or entities, or any combination of them, where information is provided, sent or received.

Communication Supports:

Methods and aids that facilitate effective communications with persons with disabilities that include, but is not limited to, captioning, alternative and augmentative communication supports, plain language, and sign language.

Disability:

Disability is defined under the AODA and the Human Rights Code as:

  1. any degree of physical disability, infirmity, malformation or disfigurement that is caused by bodily injury, birth defect or illness and, without limiting the generality of the foregoing, includes diabetes mellitus, epilepsy, a brain injury, any degree of paralysis, amputation, lack of physical co-ordination, blindness or visual impediment, deafness or hearing impediment, muteness or speech impediment, or physical reliance on a guide dog or other animal or on a wheelchair or other remedial appliance or device,
  2. a condition of mental impairment or a developmental disability;
  3. a learning disability, or a dysfunction in one or more of the processes involved in understanding or using symbols or spoken language;
  4. a mental disorder; or
  5. an injury or disability for which benefits were claimed or received under the insurance plan established under the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997.

Information:

Means data, facts and knowledge that exists in any format, including text, audio, digital or images, and that conveys meaning.

Redeployment:

Means the reassignment of workers to other departments or jobs within the organization as an alternative to layoff, when a particular job or department has been eliminated.

Supervisor:

A person who has charge of a workplace or authority over a worker. Generally this would include those with a position title such as Director, Manager or Supervisor, as well as any other management type position, or those in a temporary supervisory position.

Unconvertible:

  1. If it is not technically feasible to convert the information or communications;
  2. The technology to convert the information or communication is not readily available.

Worker:

Refers to any person regarding whom Storesupport pays wages or a salary, has control over their assigned work and has a right to control the details of their work. It also extends to the senior management level.

This includes, but is not limited to:

  1. full-time workers
  2. part-time workers
  3. seasonal workers
  4. contract workers

Operating Principles

Multi-Year Accessibility Plan

Storesupport shall create a multi-year Accessibility Plan outlining a phased-in approach to prevent and remove barriers and address the current and future requirements of the AODA. The plan shall be reviewed and updated at least every five years or as required.

Training

Storesupport shall ensure that training is provided to all employees (“workers”) on the requirements of the accessibility standards referred to in the regulations and on the Human Rights Code as it pertains to persons with disabilities. Training shall be scheduled and implemented by January 1, 2014.

This training shall be provided within two weeks of, when the individual commences performing duties for Storesupport. Additional training shall be provided within two weeks of, any revisions made to this policy and/or related procedures and practices.

INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATIONS STANDARDS

Storesupport shall create, provide and receive information and communication in methods that are accessible to persons with disabilities.

If it is determined that it is not technically feasible to convert the information or communication, or the technology to convert the information or communication is not readily available the person requesting the information shall be provided with:

  •  an explanation as to why the information or communication is not convertible;
  •  a summary of the unconvertible information or communication.

Emergency Information

Storesupport shall prepare emergency procedures, plans or public safety information and make the information available in an accessible format or with appropriate communication supports, as soon as practicable, upon request.

Feedback Process

Storesupport shall establish a process for receiving and responding to feedback from individuals about the manner in which it conducts business with persons with disabilities. Information about this process shall be made readily available in an accessible format or with appropriate communication supports. The feedback process shall permit persons to provide their feedback in person, by telephone, in writing, or by delivering an electronic text by email or on diskette or otherwise.

The feedback process shall specify the actions to be taken by Storesupport in the event that a complaint is received. A response shall be provided to the person making the complaint within five working days.

Accessible Formats and Communication Supports

Storesupport shall provide or arrange for accessible formats and communication supports for persons with disabilities:

 Upon request, and in a timely manner that takes into account the person’s accessibility needs due to a disability;

 At a cost that is no more than the regular cost charged to another person; and

 In consultation with the person making the request determine the suitability of an accessible format or with appropriate communication supports.

Education, Training and Materials

Storesupport shall provide access to or prepare for the provision of access to accessible materials where they exist, make information about the availability of accessible materials publicly available, and provide the information in an accessible format or with appropriate communication supports, upon request.

Website Accessibility

Storesupport shall make their company Internet and web content conform with the World Wide Web Consortium Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 initially at Level A and increasing to Level AA. By January 1, 2014, any new web content shall conform to WCAG 2.0 Level A. By January 1, 2021 all website and web content shall conform to WCAG 2.0 Level AA.

EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS

The Employment Standards builds upon the present requirements under the Human Rights Code in relation to whereby accommodate persons with disabilities through the job application process and the employment relationship. It applies in respect to workers and does not apply to volunteers and other non-paid individuals.

Recruitment and Selection

Storesupport shall notify internal and external job applicants about the availability of accommodations upon request for applicants with disabilities. This may take the form of a notice posted to the company website or a statement on a job posting for which “accommodation for applicants with disabilities is available upon request.” In addition, job applicants who have been selected to participate in an assessment or selection process shall be notified that accommodations are available. The related materials or processes required specific to the job applicant’s disability shall be discussed in consultation with the applicant.

Worker Notification

Storesupport shall inform workers of policies and procedures including those on the provision of job accommodation that take into account a worker’s accessibility needs. This information shall be provided to new workers as soon as practical after they commences performing their duties with Storesupport. Once the applicable support is identified, Storesupport shall determine how best to accommodate the worker in consultation with the reporting supervisor, human resources specialist and the worker.

Accessible Formats and Communication Supports for Workers

In addition, and where a worker with a disability requests it, Storesupport shall consult with the worker to provide or arrange for the provision of accessible formats and communication supports for:

 Information that is needed in order to perform the job tasks;

 Information that is generally available to workers in the workplace;

 Consult with the worker making the request in determining the suitability of an accessible format or communication support.

Individual Accommodation Plan

Storesupport shall develop, maintain and document an individual accommodation plan for workers with disabilities to meet requirements under the Employment Standards. Information regarding accessible formats and communication supports shall be covered in individual accommodation plans.

Return to Work Process

Storesupport shall maintain a return to work process for its workers who have been absent from work due to a disability and who require disability-related accommodations in order to return to work. The work process shall take into account individualized accommodation plans suitable for the worker. This return to work process shall not replace or override any current return to work processes overseen by the [Insert Job Title or Department]. Performance Management, Career Development, Advancement, and Redeployment

Storesupport shall examine the accessibility needs of workers with disabilities when handling performance management, providing career development and advancement to workers, and if redeploying workers to other locations or workgroups.

Workplace Emergency Response

Where the worker with a disability requires assistance, Storesupport shall, in consultation with the worker, provide an assigned support person(s) to assist during emergency situations that require evacuation of the premises. The individualized workplace emergency plan or process shall be shared with the support person(s), only with full agreement by the worker ensuring their privacy at all times. Storesupport shall review the individual workplace emergency information when or if the worker moves to a different location or workgroup, or there is a change to their disability, with the reporting supervisor, human resources specialist and the worker.

In addition, a general, emergency evacuation process shall be in place for any facility that may have visitors with disabilities that require further assistance. This process shall be communicated to all workers.

TRANSPORTATION STANDARDS

The Transportation Standards makes it easier for people to travel on specialized and public transportation and in taxicabs in Ontario, including persons with disabilities, older Canadians, and families with children in strollers.

Storesupport is not a provider of specialized or public transit and does not license taxicabs; therefore the Transportation Standards requirements do not apply to the company.

DESIGN OF PUBLIC SPACES STANDARDS

The standard focuses on removing barriers in the areas of buildings and public spaces. The requirements apply when building new or making planned significant alterations to existing public spaces. Storesupport will include the accessibility requirements right at the beginning, in the earliest stages of planning and design, when applicable.

Policy Administrative Controls

Responsibilities

Storesupport is responsible for reviewing this policy every three (3) years and/or recommended amendments to ensure on-going compliance with regulated accessibility standards and legislated obligations.

Management personnel will ensure that they and their workers under their supervision are familiar with this policy.

Monitoring and Contraventions

Management personnel will monitor current practices to ensure compliance. Failure to comply with this policy may result in disciplinary action, up to and including dismissal.

Please note

This policy is subject to amendment and/or revocation at the company’s sole discretion, without prior notice to workers. Issue Date: Dec 29, 2014 Revision Frequency: 3 years or as required
Revision Date: New Issue Revision Number: 0.0
Signing Authority: [Signature on file]

Rob Scullion

Function: Controller

Printed copies other than the original are not considered controlled documents | POL 005